It is never too late to catch up with an old and genuine friend – Fedora

I know it has been a while since I wrote my last post. That is mostly due to my really very busy schedule with testing RHEL7.1/ nss-nspr/ RHDS releases but yeah, I missed my passion of writing.

Never mind, it is never too late. Specially, when it comes to catching up with a true friend like Fedora.

It is such a fantastic thing about Fedora that no matter how much time you have to be away from it, It welcomes you back open heatedly without any complains. Just like a cute girl friend and not like a stubborn wife who ends up asking you so many whats, whys and where etc etc.

So, it took me mostly two half days (which turns out to be in total one day)  to catch up with the things which is currently happening in Fedora. Kudos goes to our Fedora Project leader  Matthew Miller who never forget to write his awesome post “Five Things in Fedora” in fedora magazine  . I did read my most favorite mailing list i.e. fedora testing mailing list and oh my my… how fast fedora world is. I think 7 days of a non-fedora life is equal to 2 days of fedora life!!! I ended up reading nearly about 200 mails, honestly I did skip some. But overall it gave me a clear picture of what is happening in fedora QA. I read logs of some irc channels like #fedora-qa, #fedora-blocker-review etc

So, all of this gave me a nice insight to what is currently happening in fedora and specifically more about fedora qa, well for me that is most important and favorite part .. 🙂

So far, current Hottest news is RC5 is out for fedora21 and up for testing. Details are here on the test mailing list .Here is the list of the blocker bugs https://qa.fedoraproject.org/blockerbugs/milestone/21/final/buglist which reveals what were the accepted blockers and fixed. It was little unclear which RC has which bug fixed and reverted, still I will try bifurcate..

RC1 – 11/28/2014 07:04 PM – https://fedorahosted.org/rel-eng/ticket/6031#comment:21

RC2 – 12/03/2014 01:15 AM – https://fedorahosted.org/rel-eng/ticket/6031#comment:24

RC3 – Never Released    –   This never made it out of the compose process –        releng  made a small mistake so they started over, and it was easier to call the retry ‘RC4’ than clean up the failed attempt and call the retry ‘RC3’.

RC4 – 12/03/2014 03:50 PM – RC4 and RC2 should be that the live images have correct fontconfig caches. Otherwise RC4 and RC2 should be  effectively identical.
RC5 – 12/04/2014 08:03 AM – The difference between RC5 and RC4 is that the changes to python-blivet and pyparted that were introduced in RC1 to fix bug #1166598 have been reverted, as they were found to cause more serious problems than they fixed.

So, if you see within 24 hours, we had 3 releases. So Fedora is running really very fast to meet its Final Release which is scheduled at December 9th.
Com’on, let’s contribute to achieve a biggest milestone in fedora history where you will have bright new awesome threesome Workstation, Server and Cloud!!

Join #fedora-qa now – irc://irc.freenode.net/fedora-qa and don’t miss the fun!!

Leave a Reply

